Low carb cauliflower fried ‘rice’

Thanks for the all comments on the cauliflower ‘rice’.  Something new I tried last week was to make cauliflower fried ‘rice’.  I made two pans, one for me using recipe below, and one for kids which was half cauli, half rice.  The recipe was inspired by the recipe in Jane Kennedy’s ‘OMG! I can eat that?’  I really couldn’t tell that I wasn’t eating rice!  The kids devoured theirs, so this will be an easy midweek staple.

(I am listing this a vegetarian, but you’ll need to take out the ham)

Ingredients for 4

cauliflower fried rice (see last post) (double quantity)

spray oil

2 eggs, whisked with 1 tablespoon water

1 garlis glove finely chopped

1 knob ginger finely chopped

100 leg ham chopped

2 tab salt reduced light soy sauce or tamati

1 spring onino sliced on diagonal

1/2 carrot julienned

 

Method

Spray pan with oil. Make an omelette by cooking eggs for a minute or so, slide out of pan, roll up and slice.  Set aside.

Spray pan again, cook garlic and ginger for 20 seconds.  Add ham and carrot cook for a few more minutes (at this point I split the mixture into two pans, one with only cauli for adults and one with 1/2 rice 1/2 cauli for kids).   Add cauli and toss through pan.

Add egg, soy and spring onions and stir through.  Serve.  I like to add some fresh chopped chlili to mine.

 

 

 

Leave a comment